Oracle Hyperion DRM Tips & Tricks | Save Your Work

Oracle Hyperion Data Relationship Manager (DRM) has a somewhat unorthodox interface, which can lead the unwary into losing their work. Grizzled Oracle Hyperion DRM veterans will have discovered these traps the hard way, but if you are relatively new to the product this blog post might spare you some pain, we hope.

Items Displayed in Tabs

Oracle Hyperion DRM uses tabs to display the details of queries, compares, imports, blends, exports and all the objects managed by a system administrator. When you have one of these open, as the image below shows the only indication that you have unsaved changes is an asterisk next to the item name (and even this cannot always be relied on).

130425_DRM Tips and Tricks_Save your work

 

If you close an item after making changes, you don’t see the Save / Don’t Save / Cancel dialog box that most programs would display – Oracle Hyperion DRM simply closes the item and discards any unsaved work. It is thus important to get into the habit of being conscious of whether you need to click the Save icon towards the top left before closing a Oracle Hyperion DRM tab.

Versions

When an Oracle Hyperion DRM version is created it starts in an unsaved state. Unsaved versions are deleted whenever the Oracle Hyperion DRM service is restarted (which happens every night at some sites). New versions are often used for importing data to blend into other versions, so are legitimately temporary. However, if you have created a version you want to keep, it does not matter how often you clicked Save after adding or moving nodes or updating properties. If the Oracle Hyperion DRM service is restarted you will lose everything.

You should save a version you want to keep as soon as you have created it, by right-clicking on its name and selecting Save. 

130425_DRM Tips and Tricks_Save your work_2

 

Once a version has been saved, all confirmed node changes and property updates are preserved without you having to save the version again.

Hopefully that should save you some time and stress!

This entry was posted in Technical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.